Persevere, or Perseverate: Week 3 of the 16 Week Writing Challenge

This was a rough one. All my numbers went down. Abysmal, really. I only got about half the word count from last week finished. My reading hours were also cut in half.

So, what gives?

This week was relentless. My son got an ear infection. He isn’t supposed to get these anymore because he had tubes inserted, but one fell out. Now, back to  infections. The transmission on my car went. Lucky lad that I am, I had enough green to cover the cost of a rebuild. It took it all though, savvy?

The main reason my numbers are so poor this week, why my long-face should certainly be screaming through my words by now, is I had to put my dog down last Friday. That’s her pictured above. Bella was her name. She was fifteen years old.

The last six months of her life, watching her march toward death, were agony for my family and I. She suffered from end-stage liver disease, and breast cancer. The tumor on her belly ballooned to the size of my palm. On such a little dog as she (miniature dachshund ), that tumor weighed her down all the way till the end. She could barely see or hear anymore, and many a morning I awoke to clean up her shit, piss, and vomit off the living room floor.

There isn’t a thing on earth I wouldn’t give to clean up her mess right now.

My family and I have taken the blow rather hard, yet we persevere. Life keeps moving, no matter how bad I try to nail the fucker down. We keep on, and deal.

It is not my intention to eulogize my beloved Bella here. I haven’t the words. The point is that I kept writing, everyday, through the whole ordeal. I can hold my head up high for that.

Now, the problem. I’ve come up 4:15 short of my weekly writing minimum. I shoot for two hours a day, everyday of the week. If I don’t hit this mark, I run a deficit until I get caught up. By Sunday, I should have at least put down fourteen hours of solid writing time, my bare minimum. This, did not happen these last seven days.

I see three options to take. You may see more, but this is how I’m running it.

  1. Forgive and forget. Hey, no one will blame me for cutting myself some slack for a death in the family. None, that is, except me. I don’t like that. This one, is out.
  2. Stay up late to get the writing done. If I started right now, I would finish at 3:06a.m. I wake up at 5:30am every weekday. If these lack of writing hours were due to my own negligence, then I would inflict this penalty on myself. They aren’t, though. Life was out of my hands this week, and there was nothing I could do. So, I’ll put this one away till needed (hopefully, never.)
  3. Carry over the hours into next week. I’ve got to make up the writing time somehow, and I think this is it. So, I start out the week with a 4:15 deficit. I’ll get caught up. Just have to take it one day at  time.

I wish you all well this coming week. If you’ve got a pet, maybe give him or her an extra squeeze tomorrow. Love them with all your heart. Keep writing.

Till next time.

 

 

Published by

dmclark35

Writer, veteran, adult student, husband and father; life is busy! I love it though, and my hopes are to share with you my insights into these different roles, as well as to provide some experience-based tips on how to cope with the chaos they can bring. If even one of these different areas of life piques your interest then this might be the place for you. Welcome!

2 thoughts on “Persevere, or Perseverate: Week 3 of the 16 Week Writing Challenge”

Leave a Reply

