Week 4 of the 16 Week Writing Challenge (destroying the kiddie film industry, too)

The metrics:

Writing

  • 1 chapter complete
  • 8000 words typed
  • 1,142 (average) word count per day
  • 18:25 spent writing total
  • 2:37 (average) spent in daily writing
  • 54,342 total word count

Reading

  • 1 novel complete
  • 2 novels in-progress
  • 397 pages read
  • 13:34 spent reading
  • 1:56 (approx. average) spent in daily pleasure reading

T.V/Movies/Netflix

  • 1:46 total

Hey, what’d ya watch, Mister?

My son wanted to see the Lego: Batman movie, so we did. Per the terms of my agreement…with myself, I can watch a movie if my son and/or wife asks me to, at my own discretion. I’ve spent 0 hours with my son in the last month, and feel like a total fucking bastard for it. Plus, I miss the little dude. So, we went and saw the Lego:Batman movie. 

It was stupid, nonsensical, perhaps mildly funny at best, but still a whole lot better than the shitfests the studios are rolling roll out these days for children (“Trolls,” anyone? Or maybe “Sing.” I here they use songs like “Baby Got Back” and “The Humpty Dance,” which is totally ok because kids need to here about people “getting busy in a Burger King bathroom,” or tickling another person’s asshole with their nose while they 69 them. ” But they don’t play the whole song, certainly not those parts. What’s the big deal? ” The internet plays the whole song, and your kids know how to use it. )  I digress, though, my hatred for the children’s entertainment industry burns too hot and far to bright to contain in this blog.

All I wanted was to hear my son laugh, watch him eat his fruit snacks, and load up on daddy’s Dr. Pepper.

A perfect day if there ever were.

The best news of the week is that I got caught up. My writing deficit of six hours and some change is now history. It took me chipping away at it everyday, plus my regular workload of two writing hours daily, to get there. Alas, I did, vicious scoundrel that I am.

I haven’t listed what I’ve read since January, so here it goes:

  • Hondo, Louis L’Amour
  • Call of the Wild / White Fang, Jack London
  • Odd Thomas, Dean Koontz
  • The Great Divorce, C.S. Lewis
  • Hillbilly Elegy, J.D. Vance
  • The Book of Joy, by the Dalai Lama, Desmond Tutu, and   Douglas Carlton Abrams

Novels currently in progress:

I’m going to review all these once I find the time. Probably flash review style.  Everyone on the list is a good one, except Hillbilly Elegy. Way too much dry politics, and way, way, way too much telling instead of showing (it’s like one drawn out essay. No thanks.)

Alright, friends. Disagree with my views on something? Or maybe you actually liked something you saw. Whatever it is, the comment box awaits.

As always, I wish you peace, laughter, and a heart bright as sunshine this week.

Till next time.

 

 

Published by

dmclark35

Writer, veteran, adult student, husband and father; life is busy! I love it though, and my hopes are to share with you my insights into these different roles, as well as to provide some experience-based tips on how to cope with the chaos they can bring. If even one of these different areas of life piques your interest then this might be the place for you. Welcome!

Leave a Reply

