16 Week Writing Challenge: Week 8 (or why Papa and I shall never share a sunset)

The metrics:

Writing

  • 2 chapters complete
  • 7,679 words typed
  • 1,097 (average) word count per day
  • 16:44 spent writing total
  • 2:39 (average) spent in daily writing
  • 79,593 total word count

Reading

  • 2 novels in-progress
  • 1 novel complete
  • 325 pages read
  • 11:15 spent reading
  • 1:36 min.(approx. average) spent in daily pleasure reading

T.V/Movies/Netflix

  • 3:42

The good news, gang, my writing numbers went up, up, up! The bad news, because this strange planet has to have bad with the good (always), is I’m still 2:25 in the hole carrying into this coming week.

I was out of town these last few days. I haven’t spent time alone in a foreign land (foreign to me at least) in well over a year. I was out and about, doing all the touristy stuff one does on vacation (though this trip wasn’t for vacation—but every trip kinda’ is, isn’t it?), and there was a Half-Price Books across the street from my hotel.

That’s party time for this guy.

Wow, that’s sad.

Anyway! I was in Dayton, Ohio, wrapping up some military garbage I still have to deal with, and took in the local scenery. The U.S. Air Force Museum was out of this world! Guys and gals, they have a room there just brimming with intercontinental ballistic missiles. They stretched five stories to the ceiling like giant fists from hell.

Unreal.

You can also walk on a space shuttle there. It’s not an actual shuttle, but the whole front compartment is the real thing. Also, I walked through several different iterations of Air Force One, all used by names like Kennedy, Reagan, and Roosevelt. If you have kids, get out there. It’s absolutely free, but make sure you have more than a few hours to go through it all because it’s just damn enormous.

So, aside from the museum, and my nightly visits to HPB, I managed to get some work done. But I didn’t write for two days, which I now have to make up this week. So be it, as long as the work gets done.

My reading is around the same as last week, a little lower perhaps. I read Hemingway’s “The Sun also Rises,” and I have to say, I still don’t like him.

I’ve read three of his books now (the others being “A Farewell to Arms” and “The Old Man and the Sea”) but I can’t seem to get into his work. I admire his prose style, his clarity, his acumen for choosing the simplest words and conveying complex themes through them. But, his stories never seem to go anywhere, never seem to wrap up. Most see this as a strength. I do not. If his language was brighter, if the words jumped off the page, like Kerouac for instance (whom I’m still on the fence about), then maybe he’d be for me. I know I’m in the minority, and who am I but a lone writer trying to ply his craft against the backs of our most elite here, but he and I weren’t meant to be friends. Yet, Hunter S. Thompson, Ray Bradbury, and countless others mark Papa as a huge influence. Perhaps the next one I read will show me why.

As for the movie/TV/Netflix time; yeah, I was bad. “American Psycho” was on HBO in my hotel room and I couldn’t resist. “It’s hip to be square” though, right? And, I watched “Arrival” per my wife’s request. It was good, but nowhere near all the hype it got, in my correct opinion.

Anyway, friends, I’m spent. Keep on writing, please. You have to. If you don’t, the art will just shrivel up and die, and text message lingo will become the new standard.

Don’t let them get away with it.

Write!

 

Published by

dmclark35

Writer, veteran, adult student, husband and father; life is busy! I love it though, and my hopes are to share with you my insights into these different roles, as well as to provide some experience-based tips on how to cope with the chaos they can bring. If even one of these different areas of life piques your interest then this might be the place for you. Welcome!

Leave a Reply

